Australia Awards Scholarships are long-term awards administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.


They provide opportunities for people from developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.


They aim to contribute to the development needs of Australia’s partner countries in line with bilateral and regional agreements.


The study and research opportunities provided by Australia Awards Scholarships develop the skills and knowledge of individuals to drive change and contribute to development in their own countries.


Apply till: 29 April 2022




Australia Awards Scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training. The following benefits generally apply:


– full tuition fees

– return air travel–payment of a single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route

– Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE) – a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by the department.

– Introductory Academic Program (IAP)–a compulsory program prior to the commencement of formal academic studies covering information on living and studying in Australia

– supplementary academic support may be available to ensure a scholar’s academic success or enhance their academic experience

– Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award (for award holder only)–provided to cover the scholar’s basic medical costs (with the exception of pre-existing conditions)

– establishment allowance–a once only payment as a contribution towards accommodation expenses, text books, study materials

– fieldwork (for research awards and Masters by coursework which have a research component where fieldwork is compulsory) may be available for eligible research students for one return economy class airfare via the most direct route to their country of citizenship or within Australia.

– Pre-course English (PCE) fees–if deemed necessary PCE may be available for students for in-country and/or in-Australia training



Applicants who want to accept an Australia Awards Scholarship will need to sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia declaring that they will comply with the conditions of the scholarship.


Scholars are required to leave Australia for a minimum of two years after completing their scholarship. Failure to do so will result in the scholar incurring a debt for the total accrued cost of their scholarship.




– be a citizen of a participating country (as listed below) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship;

– be a minimum of 18 years of age on 1 February of the year of commencing the scholarship;

– not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship;

– not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;

– or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection and mobilisation phases (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]);

– not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that they were in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have resided outside Australia for eight years);

– not be current serving military personnel;

– recipients under the Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) who have completed their secondary school;

– not hold convictions of criminal activities (including in their home country) including those relating to Child Protection and PSEAH;

– education in Australia in the year prior are eligible to apply for a long-term Australia Award;

– be able to satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken (this may mean that Program Areas will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the institution’s admission requirements. This may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at selected institutions);

– have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector);

– not be applying for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lower than already achieved (e.g. be applying for a Master’s scholarship when they already hold a PhD) and applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed;


– be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. This may mean that the Program Area will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the visa requirements.



Below is the list of the PARTICIPATING INSTITUTIONS:


 Australian Catholic University

 Aviation Australia

 Bond University

 Box Hill Institute TAFE

 Bureau of Meteorology

 Canberra Institute of Technology

 Carnegie Mellon University

 Central Queensland University

 Charles Darwin University

 Charles Sturt University

 Chisholm Institute of TAFE

 Curtin University of Technology

 Deakin University

 Edith Cowan University

 Federation University

 Flinders University

 Griffith University

 Holmesglen Institute of TAFE

 James Cook University

 Kangan Institute

 La Trobe University

 Macquarie University

 Melbourne Polytechnic

 Monash University

 Murdoch University

 Queensland University of Technology

 RMIT University

 Southern Cross University

 Swinburne University of Technology


 TAFE Queensland


 Tasmanian Polytechnic

 The Australian National University

 The Gordon Institute of TAFE

 The University of Adelaide

 The University of Melbourne

 The University of New England

 The University of New South Wales (including ADFA)

 The University of Newcastle

 The University of Queensland

 The University of Sydney

 The University of Western Australia

 University College London

 University of Canberra

 University of South Australia

 University of Southern Queensland

 University of Tasmania (including the Australian Maritime College)

 University of Technology Sydney

 University of The Sunshine Coast

 University of Wollongong

 Victoria University

 Western Sydney University

 William Angliss Institute of TAFE






ASEAN (Brunei, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand)












Sri Lanka






Federated States of Micronesia



Marshall Islands


Papua New Guinea


Solomon Islands






Palestinian Territories


Please refer 2023 Australia Awards Scholarship enquiries to your in-country contact.



More information is available HERE

Please follow and like us: